Royal Yacht Squadron wins back Gstaad Yacht Club Ski Yachting


In a thrilling final race against defender Bayerischer Yacht Club, the Royal Yacht Squadron team of Sir Graham Wilkinson, Christine McGrigor, Anna Gordon and Christopher Preston, won back the prestigious Interclub Ski Yachting event in Gstaad.The 2014 edition, which was held in the world famous mountain resort, brought together teams representing yacht clubs and sailing teams from all over the world. Past winners include the Royal Yacht Squadron, Société Nautique de Genève, Bayerischer Yacht Club, Yacht Club de Monaco and hosts the Gstaad Yacht Club.


The by invitation only event, which consist of giant slalom Friday night ski races, followed by match racing with remote control carbon fiber yachts in Gstaad’s semi-Olympic indoor pool, powered by state-of-the-art wind machines on Saturday, welcomed again a record number of 25 teams from all over the world.

Given that one of club’s objectives is to promote youth sailing, an identical event was organized also for the under 16, which was won by team Optimist Academy with Joshua Richner, Florian Geissbühler, Alexander Hubmann and Rémi Vonlanthen.

The prize giving ceremony was held with over 100 guests in the beautiful clubhouse, during which Gstaad Yacht Club racing team members Matias Buhler and Nathalie Brugger gave a short but very inspirational presentation of their Nacra 17 Rio 2016 Olympic campaign.


The Gstaad Yacht Club was founded in 1998 by a group of sailing enthusiasts with strong links to Gstaad. Today, the GYC has over 400 members from over 20 countries. Since December 2003 the GYC has its own club facilities in the Bellevue Park. Members enjoy a unique network, year round activities on the waters, in the clubhouse and in the surroundings of Gstaad.
Photo Copyright must read:
@ Sebastian Devenish / GYC
2014 Interclub Ski-YachtingOfficial Results
Royal Yacht Squadron – B
(Sir Graham Wilkinson, Anna Gordon, Christine Mc Grigor,
Christopher Preston)
Runner Up:
Bayerischer Yacht Club – Team 1
(Philip Hibler, Adrian Hoesch, Hans Hibler, Paulina Rothlauf)
Royal Thames Yacht Club
Bayerischer Yacht Club – Team 2
Quarter Finalists:
Star Fleet Basel
Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club
Yacht Club de Monaco – 1
Royal Yacht Squadron – A
Qualification Round:
Norddeutscher Regattaverein – 2
Team Zai
Gstaad Yacht Club – Team Back 2 Racing
Yacht Club Costa Smeralda
Nyländska Jaktclubben
Norddeutscher Regattaverein – 2
Porto Montenegro Yacht Club
Royal Ocean Racing Club
Royal Swedish Yacht Club (KSSS)
Segel Club St. Moritz
Team JMC
Team Credit Suisse Gstaad
Zürcher Yacht Club
Yacht Club de Monaco – 2
Gstaad Yacht Club – Team Canaries
Gstaad Yacht Club – Team ESSOP II
Gstaad Yacht Club – Team Girls